Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-18 - 6:17 a.m.

Bobby died at home 10/16/03 at 8:30 in the evening, surrounded by his family. All of the Korin clan was here, his children, grand-children, and even his first great-grandchild and namesake Robert Lee Korin the second. In typical Bobby fashion, when told by his grand-daughter Jennifer that she intended to call the baby "Bert", he thought for a little while and then said, "No, I don't think so. I think we will call him "Deuce" Well, "Deuce" he is and to the family probably forever will be.

I have been home from work for 5 or maybe 6 weeks now on FMLA. Several times we thought Bobby had improved enough for me to go back to work. Well every time I brought it up to Bobby he said no, take one more week. I am so glad I have been home with him these last weeks. I have taken care of him for so long that I really knew in my heart that he wouldn't pull through this time. Bobby has gotten so sick so many times and rallied, unbelievably, time and time again. Even though I thought he wouldn't have the strength this time, I really didn't believe it. I never know when to listen to my heart and when to listen to my head. Monday night I woke to a crash as he fell flat and hard from a standing position. He banged his hand and elbow and chest and bloodied his nose. From that moment on he rapidly deteriorated. It wasn't until after he was gone that Dr. Sarah and I thought perhaps a small stroke precipitated the end for him. I could write all the medical terminology as I have become almost an expert on his health condition and all the complications and variations, but why? What happened is that after 20 years of fighting a devastating illness with courage and humor, he just couldn't fight anymore. On Tuesday I called Karen and told her he was bad, could she come over? Well, she rallied the clan and the whole immediate family was here. Every one of the children and grand-children had the opportunity to speak with him individually, and express their love and gratitude. I will be forever gratefull to Kim and Karen for their love and support. Even though we knew what he wanted, it was so hard not to call 911. Dr. Sarah gave us directions on increasing his meds and called Hospice. Hospice and Dr. Sarah both arrived Wed. afternoon. Dr. Sarah has always been forthright and direct and told us then that it would not be long, that even though he could not communicate with us by then, that she thought he could hear and understand us. Little Kathy came and read some scripture and expressed her love for him and all of the clan. Margie came and hugged him one more time. Frannie did the same. We told all the kids and had that talk again with them, the heaven and angels and all the things we believe to make some sense of this life. Jared, the youngest at 5 years old with the simplicity you can only find in a five year old said, "Papa will be an angel now, just like my other Grampa!! Ken and I were with him when he breathed his last and we all cried and said goodbye. Krissy arrived from Boston about 10:30, after they took him away. She was here this summer during one of his "good" times. We went to Mesquite and did the spa thing. After she went home she wrote him a letter that made us all cry, even Him!! So we are all together and loving each other. We are all full of the love he gave us and the things he taught us. We are all going to get through this together and keep on loving him and each other. I think that is all you have in this life that matters, that really counts or makes any difference, the love you give and the love you get.

Jesus said, "Love one another as I have loved you." John 13:34

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!